Subaru Brighton 1994 Question

libby64, Jan 26, 4:46am
Hi am considering buying the above mentioned car.1990cc 4wd auto. I like neither of these thing but the vehicle is in my price range and to be honest I know nothing about subaru's.Are they thirsty! Are they any good for towing! Vehicle has a good service history. Are there any known faults!

Where else can I look to buy a car other than trade me! (sorry TM)
Thank you

franc123, Jan 26, 4:51am
1/For their size, yes
2/Not particularly, the drivetrains aren't really engineered for it.
3/Thats a plus, they hate a lack of maintenance
4/More faults than you would care to know about.
5/Use your imagination, free ad papers!
6/Why buy something you don't like anyway!

libby64, Jan 26, 5:15am
Interesting didn't mean to offend you.
1. I'm not a mechanic
2. prefer manual but as auto far out number them,was wondering are they really as bad as dad said!
3. Never owned a subaru though it sounds like you have!
4. Just looking for advice from people like yourself who have nothing to gain from thier opinions.
5. Have you never asked a question!

franc123, Jan 26, 5:33am
1/Yes I realise that.
2/Yes on both counts.
3/No never owned one and wouldn't, have had bad enoughexperiences having to repair them for others.
4/Thats great, thats what the MB is for.
5/Plenty of times, and got some interesting answers too.
6/Why would I be offended!

hijacka, Jan 26, 6:43am
A++
Also poster 1 Thats a good idea picking a auto for towing, a non turbo subaru auto trans is alot stronger than its manual brother. Non turbo subaru manual gearboxs are very very weak! so stay away from them. you could how ever upgrade it to a better gearset but yeah why would you.
Edit.As long as you look after the trans, ie service it and use a cooler if required it will be ok for towing but stay away from the ej25 of that bg/bd model only choose the 2litre

ema1, Jan 26, 7:07am
Your dad is giving good advise, you'd better take notice of him!

libby64, Jan 26, 7:36am