Funny events while trying to fix

ola_bitchola1, Jun 14, 10:11am
I remember my first day as an apprentice my boss showing me how to cut this large steel plate with a 9 inch grinder on the ground i stood there and watched as he unknowingly set his sock on fire he rapidly dropped it and started dancing round funneyst thing id ever seen

tigertim20, Jun 14, 10:12am
i have a few.
as a green newb, I set myself on fire doing overhead welds. workmates stood there and laughed at me running across the yard, left leg of my overalls on flames up to my thigh, to the water-drum we had that we used to dunk stuff in that we wanted to cool quickly after welding.

forgot to put an item in the vice on a drill press. turned it on, lowered the bit, threw the item across the room, where it promptly went straight through the wall.

brapbrap8, Jun 14, 10:13am
Yes, I know someone who did the same thing.
Working under a trailer when he lost his grip and dropped the grinder onto himself, cut his thighs up pretty good.

tigertim20, Jun 14, 10:21am
not a really bad one, but one of our favourite tricks on each other used to be, wait til someone was setting up a weld. get everything lined up, tacked into place, lower the welding helmet, then right as they wwere about to pull the trigger, someone would walk past and turn the wire feed up to max.

used to get some interesting responses from some of the guys

sr2, Jun 14, 10:32am
Great thread; I'm happy to admit to have only duplicated about 50% of the disasters so far described.

h.e, Jun 14, 9:40pm
I had a workmate do something similar to me. I stabbed him in the ass with the glowing end of the mig wire, boy did he scream. He didn't find his joke so funny after that but me and everyone else did

h.e, Jun 14, 9:53pm