1957 Chev Pickup

lumpster, Sep 29, 6:53am
I have a nz new rh drive pickup and trying to get some ideas on suspension. I've bought a series 3 jag front end and thinking of putting jag rear end as well. There is also a mustang front kit around that looks good and a solid diff in rear but again not too sure what diff. any ideas?

jmma, Sep 29, 7:19am
I'm no expert on this, but it may pay to state what engine and trans are in it. (o:

lumpster, Sep 29, 7:25am
350 with turbo 350

race_hemi, Sep 29, 7:44am
I got one of these too, but the GMC version. Same/similar everything pretty much well except mine is probably rattier than yours. Gimme your dash .It don't matter what sorta motor you got in there - IRS Jag or any number of solid arses will get the job done on street rubber. Slicks is a different story. Want budget(ish) but plenty strong for the street . BW78. Get one out of a mid 90's coon. Want something to skite about but not really any stronger (in factory form) than the BW but twice as much $? Go with the 9 Inch. Going to go low? Be prepared to lose some deck depth. Your tray will be sitting 48mm above the chassis in OEM form. The OEM kickup given to you by Chebby is pathetic. Climb under and have a look. Start mucking around with them (the trucks) too much and the cert guy will be wanting copious quantities of boxing undertaken by you. Chassis warping boxing that is. There would be a time when you would want to be considering replicating the whole lot out of 50x150 RHS and building in the drop and anything else you wanted from the start. I'm doing mine at the moment but its got cobwebs on it, lol!

tony9, Sep 29, 7:44am
You should be having this chat now with your certifier if you want to get it on the road.

bwg11, Sep 29, 7:45am
I was about in 1957, can't remember any Chevy utes, only Holdens and Ford Mainlines. International and American Ford had 1 ton flat decks and some wellsides, Chevy may have done the same but I can't recollect any.