Automotive painting with Acrylic Laquer

meadow_man, Jan 22, 9:18pm
I have been painting (amateur) with lacquer for many years and have a question for the pro's.
Can anyone tell me what the procedure should be when rubbing back a surface and in small parts the metal surface shows through! is it necessary to undercoat the whole surface before top coating! Also when you have a surface undercoated and you are rubbing / sanding it smooth and the same thing happens, do you need to undercoat any very small area's where the metal is showing through!
I find this happens a lot on edges and sharp bends.
This is all pretty basic stuff to the experts no doubt, but is something I have wondered about. Any help appreciated, thanks.

meadow_man, Jan 22, 9:30pm
Usually 320

meadow_man, Jan 22, 9:39pm
I only sand dry on undercoat, after the first few top coats I wet sand (usually I don't have the sand through problem at this stage). I usually have the problem when sanding the undercoat.
I have some 600 grit, and may give that a try. Thanks.

meadow_man, Jan 22, 9:41pm
Any suggestions for a good gravity fed top coating gun!

meadow_man, Jan 22, 10:57pm
Thanks, I think about $500 will be me lol, I wouldn't buy a gun off Supercheap, at the moment I am using a Devilbiss D 581, it's been okay and the finishes have been okay, but I have been wondering if I get a better gun am I going to get a better job and cut back the time involved. Whichever, I am ready to replace it. Thanks a lot for the advice :0)

gunhand, Jan 23, 4:51am
Ive got a devilbiss i used for years for top coating and now use it for primer and other things and use a iwata for the good jobs now. Yes you should be able to bet a good gun for $500.