Looking at Fiats.

Page 1 / 3
sweetfanny, Aug 14, 5:47am
Has anyone on here had a Fiat Punto Arbath! Looking at down grading to a hot wee hatch, but don't want to spend anymore than $10k.Have never had a Euro car before.Or shall I stick to what I know, Toyota. any thoughts would be welcome

johnf_456, Aug 14, 5:49am
Wait for the euro salesman he will be in to write you a story about them.

jmma, Aug 14, 5:50am
Maybe you could offer some advice in the meantime, Mr(o:

johnf_456, Aug 14, 5:52am
I could but I am not a expert on Fiats, perhaps you could instead (o:

thejazzpianoma, Aug 14, 5:57am
Hi sweetfanny,
The Punto Abarth is a great wee car, very reliable, parts are cheap and easily available. They are galvanized so no rust issues and very reliable and surprisingly straight foward to deal with.

Don't spend anything like 10K on one though. They can be had as cheap as $4500 for a tidy one and for about 7K you should be getting an absolutely pristine, low km, late model one.

Its just a matter of what is around at the time, sometimes you need to be patient to get a good buy as there are limited ones around.

Remember the HGT is really the same thing as the Abarth so include those in your list too. Take one for a drive as soon as you can and see what you think. They are a proper sporty drive and very Italian, quite different to some of the other Hot hatches of the era.

Feel free to hit me up for what to look for in a good one, where to get parts etc if you decide to take it further. Happy Shopping!

thejazzpianoma, Aug 14, 6:46am
That one is worth a look, but arm twist the seller as that is plenty for a 2001 model.

They are very very different to a Golf GTI (Which I also like) the MK4 Golf GTI is very refined and feels a lot more solid and is a quieter ride. The Punto was a much cheaper car new (Stilo Abarth really competed against the Golf) and is a lot more Go Kart like.