"I'm a professional driver!"

richardmayes, Aug 11, 8:19am
Mrs Mayes out for her morning run, reports:

"A guy in his little car with L plates on paused at the railway lines on the main road, to look briefly at the signs where it says 'look for trains'.

An unloaded logging truck heading north that was obviously going too fast and following too close overtook him across the level crossing while leaning on the horn.

[This is the level crossing in main street of Featherston, the railway lines are completely obscured from view on both sides of the road. Immediately after the level crossing there is an intersection with side streets on both sides, and immediately beyond that there is a pedestrian crossing.]

The entitlement! "You have wronged me by double-checking there are no trains coming!"

apollo11, Aug 11, 8:41am
You aren't supposed to stop there, it has lights and bells to warn if a train is coming. I have no issues with visibility both ways as I approach it.

But blasting a learner driver is bad form, and some of these logging trucks are driven by utter pricks. I've had to slam on the anchors a couple of times at the Norfolk road intersection because the log trucks couldn't wait for a break in traffic.

intrade, Aug 11, 8:45am
i recon the truck driver seems to be the dimm one.

bitsnpieces2020, Aug 11, 8:54am
THe rail crossing in ngongotaha gets me, people slow down for it, there hasn't been a train on it for 20 years.

richardmayes, Aug 11, 9:20am
Driving north the railway line is completely obscured by buildings on the right, and a row of trees and the market car Park fence on the left. So if you are going to look and satisfy yourself that it's safe to cross, (a REAL look, one where you would actually have a chance of stopping if you saw a train) then you're going to have to just about stop. Anything else is just crossing your fingers and hoping for the best.

richardmayes, Aug 11, 9:24am