Motor Bike Tyres

Page 1 / 2
dingo011, Feb 29, 2:37am
My Kawasaki has a rear wheel that takes a 160/70 - 17 tyre. Michelin Pilot Road3 only comes in 160/60 - 17. Therefore I am guessing the side walls are a total of 10mm smaller / lower than what should be fitted! Apart from dropping the gearing slightly is there other reasons not to fit this to the rear wheel ( 1992 ZR1100 ) by the way!

ezekiel67, Feb 29, 2:38am
What brand/make are you running on the front!

desmodave, Feb 29, 3:56am
What difference is the brand going to make !

desmodave, Feb 29, 4:00am
Kazbanzshould be able top tell you when he see's this thread.You could ask on kiwi biker or call a bike tyre shop.I am no expert but i would be thinking that it would also slow the steering down a tad.

ambo11, Feb 29, 4:03am
My ZZr1100 uses a 170/55/17.if I were you I'd check up on original sizes.easy enough to get.

ambo11, Feb 29, 4:05am
sorry I meant 180/55/17

ezekiel67, Feb 29, 4:11am
You should be running the same tyre front and rear. He should match his new rear to whatever he's running on the front. Hopefully that brand will come in the size he needs.

If we know the brand and type we could try find out for him.

bitsy_boffin, Feb 29, 4:21am
I'm no mathematician type guy, but, I think the 70 and 60 are percentages of the width aren't they!

So that would be a difference of:
160 * 0.7
- 160 * 0.6
= 16mm difference in radius

17 inches is 431.8 mm

That gives us 327.9 radius @70
and 311.9 @60

Circumference (pi * 2r) is then:
2060.25 mm @70
1959.72 mm @60

Which is 10cm less distance per wheel rotation.

485 wheel rotations would have carried you 1KM before, and 0.950KM after.

So I think that means, (assuming previously accurate) at 100km/h indicated, you are actually doing around 95km/h. At 50, actually 47.5.