Classic car shows / swap meets etc

jahemian, Mar 28, 3:13am
Is there NOTHING in Christchurch! It seems like a pretty dead place for classics and hot rods, I don't have one myself (YET) but I love the culture and really miss Kumeu (Spelling!) and a few other shows my dad took me too. Would like my boyfriend to have a look at some cars too and see the culture etc. (South African, not really into cars at all. He drives a Polo. )

I'd also love to meet some like minded people (i don't really know many people at all in Chch)

fiatracer, Mar 28, 3:31am
there's a huge number of lovely ChCh cars for sale - seems every time I find something I want, it's in ChCh damnit. Presume it's a hangover of the quakes, sadly.

jahemian, Mar 28, 3:33am
I don't want to buy one. I'm a student. :( I just want to meet some like minded people and have a good outing every now and then. I love the culture of classics etc.

daryl14, Mar 28, 3:43am
Buy some hot rod mags or pick up a free petrolhead. Shouldn't take long to find something.

millerz08, Mar 28, 3:56am
The first sunday of every month there is a breakfast / classic car meet off johns rd, highway inn.

Pretty sure there is some car thing in Kaiapoi this weekend- but im not sure what its like never been, just seen it in the local paper.

jahemian, Mar 28, 4:12am
I saw that breakfast thing. I'm very shy, I'd love to go along though. Maybe I'll rope my partner in to it.

millerz08, Mar 28, 4:16am
You dont need to go in for breakfast, you can just have a noisey at the cars.
There is usually a coffee van there, so you could grab a coffee while you have a look.

jahemian, Mar 28, 4:19am
I want to meet some new people though! Although I don't even know how I would approach them. :L "Hi, I like your car, I helped my dad put some breaks in a Desto once, I held my foot on the break, I'm totally into classics!".

I wish I had more confidence! Maybe if I dress like a Bettie they'll see I like cars and come talk to ME. Being young and dumb sucks.