ELECTRICAL WOF FOR MOTORHOME PLEASE HELP

sunshine1968, Sep 30, 8:29pm
I just bought my first little motorhome - a 6meter Isuzu Journey. I traded it for my car at a Car dealers.The dealer knows NOTHING about it - re: how to fill tanks etc.It was owned by an old boy for 15 years (now in his 80s and has dementia) He has plumbed and wired it himself (Plumber by trade in his day). I learnt that I couldnt plug it up at a motorcamp as I only have the "normal" household cord that isnt compatible with motorcamps. My question is. Am I able to just buy a compatible lead and plug it up that way! What is required for an electrical WOF! Ive had it plugged in at home and everything works fine.

crzyhrse, Sep 30, 8:42pm
Do you seriously believe that as long as it 'works fine' right this moment it was therefore done properly and will continue to work fine! The mere fact it currently just uses an domestic 3-pin lead for the mains connection immediately suggests the complete opposite to me.

franc123, Sep 30, 8:52pm
The mere fact that its got a normal household cord as a power supply says whoever did the job didn't know what the hell they were doing.It may be a case of fitting a large type caravan style plug in place of the small 3 pin one but then again it might not be.EWOF's are available from some general (NOT auto) electricians, those that do them usually say so in their ads in the yellow pages.I'd be preparing for a few laughs from the sparkie and an expensive job to get it compliant if I was you.On the subject of motor camps and electricity, on your travels you might want to ask them why exactly EWOFs are even required on "proper" campers and caravans when they hardly ever check them and when they permit the likes of seasonal workers and these grubby tourists who limp about the place in these grotty old 1980's vans they buy with mattresses in the back who do exactly that, run household cords through windows.i'd like to know the answer.

sunshine1968, Sep 30, 9:03pm