Tools In The Car? The Age Of Modern Motoring.

Page 1 / 2
zephyrheaven, May 2, 8:02am
This got me pondering last week, customer bought a late model Mazda last week & asked me to compile him a tool bag for the boot - in case of breakdown!
I was kind of confused for a bit - still am really, my own cars for instance: 01 Subaru - basic jack & handle, if it breaks down Im going the rest of the way in a rental, Landcruiser - has a very nice factory took kit, but again - not much you can repair on the side of the road! Peugeot 205 Gti - nothing, I can push it into a ditch pretty easy lol
However - the Mk3 Zephyr - full imperial spanner set, screwdrivers, hammer, crescent et al - because its from an era (and built for) roadside repairs if necessary.

Just wonder what you blokes carry!

zephyrheaven, May 2, 8:03am
Lets get one thing right - Im a mechanic with my own shop, I know whats repairable on the road & what aint, never seen anyone with a full bag of sensors for a Subaru & the means to replace them in the pouring rain on SH73 ha ha

sandypheet, May 2, 8:06am
I would guess the best modern tool would be the cell phone.

jono2912, May 2, 8:10am
That's the reason I have VTNZ Roadside rescue, simply because it saves the hassle if it needs a tow.

tmenz, May 2, 8:22am
My Honda has a basic kit with a couple of screwdrivers and a couple of spanners. When the distributor bearings collapsed in the middle of nowhere, I was able to successfully change the distributor (for one obtained from a wrecker) using only the car tool kit!

zephyrheaven, May 2, 8:23am
nice work tmenz, I managed the same on dads Forester in Fairlie once, wrecker was an awesome guy & opened up on a sunday afternoon for me to remove one from half a gt wagon

clark20, May 2, 8:28am
And a fire extinguisher

johnf_456, May 2, 8:29am
Very good advice you never know when you will need one for you or someone else. Which reminds me I need a replacement one.

m16d, May 2, 8:36am