Driving along & my wheel fell off!

Page 2 / 3
mothergoose_nz, Mar 26, 3:50am
i was out at a restaurant and while i was dining the locals boys watched as a guy removed the wheel nuts on front drivers side wheel of my car.they all waited to see what would happen when the car drove off.well i came out and drove my car and it made a bang like the engine had fallen out.the local boys were having a good laugh.police came and sorted out who had done the deed.he thought he was getting back at someone else.next day police went to his place and my hubcap and nuts were still in the boot of his car.he had his day in court.he wasnt a young fellow either.

raymond00001, Mar 26, 4:13am
The left vs right sounds like an urban myth, reckon its the vibration that unwinds loose ones, same as on an engine its not rotating. When i used to work in a garage had a lady come in, all here nuts were loose, someone must have been disturbed in nite trying to steal her rims. Had a truck trailer wheel nearly come off, wrecked the axle, only 5 of 12 nuts were still there and had been rubbed flat to resemble washers!

pfemstn, Mar 26, 4:44am
yep not unknown to happen generally on older vehicles and nearly always the LH wheels had a wheel come off on me on a Model A Ford! something to watch out on newly refurbished wheels as they will loosen because the paint hasnt been compressed where the wheel nuts go

lookoutas, Mar 26, 4:48am
If you haven't noticed a difference, then you haven't noticed anything to form an opinion on.
It's not a myth, centrifugal force is a fact.

johnf_456, Mar 26, 4:51am
Yup psychics's does not change.

sr2, Mar 26, 6:36am
There is a very good reason why manufacturesstopped using left hand threaded wheel studs in the early 70's, (centrifugal force has nothing to do with it).

cowboy110, Mar 26, 6:47am
Crystal ball gazing has nothing to do with it in this case.

jogjm, Mar 26, 7:03am
I think someone tampered with it

aragorn2003, Mar 26, 7:08am