Tandem trailer towing

haybales, Apr 4, 10:27am
how safe is it to tow a tandem with car loaded but 1 set of wheels removed from the trailer!

johnn, Apr 4, 10:30am
no problem as car on trailer is Fiat bambina

haybales, Apr 4, 10:38am
i think its a skyline. just had a ring from my brother in law, hes down the line and they got a hire trailer from a service station. one of the u bolts on one of the trailer axles came off so they rang for advice. They wanted to take off one axle completely and just run 1 set of tyres.I said dump the trailer and tow the car with a rope. they rang back a bit later, had been talking to the S/S owner and he said its sweet to tow the tandem with 2 wheels. I think its dodgy as hell.

ralphdog1, Apr 4, 10:56am
Typical tandem trailer axles are 1500kg per axle at best, you do the sums.

haybales, Apr 4, 11:11am
thats why im asking, im not a mechanic or have a skyline or tandem trailer to weigh. my opinion was to side with caution, and my bro in law is young and bulletproof and would probably think nothing can go wrong. i do think the s/s owner needs a bullet for suggesting it is ok though. a trailer doesnt have 4 wheels for no reason.

johnf_456, Apr 4, 11:13am
Personally if designed to have 4 working wheels that's the way it should stay, not worth the risk personally.

ralphdog1, Apr 4, 11:22am
In my mind the single axle will be overloaded, will probably get away with it, however if it goes bad I bet you anything that the terms of the hire agreement are such that it will be all you BIL's problem.
The owner needs a bullet for hiring a trailer that is unsafe and for the advice he has offered.

granada, Apr 4, 2:01pm
get him to call into the local police station and ask their advice.

mrfxit, Apr 4, 8:19pm
Not legal,
Try taking it to a garage or vtnz for a wof on 2 wheels & see what happens.
It's a "discretion" from the police if you tow it EMPTY, but not allowed if it's loaded.