Approx $$ for motorbike gear for a learner?

Page 1 / 2
disco_super_fly, Jun 28, 4:53am
I'm looking at purchasing my first bike, but obviously need to buy the gear first :) I've ridden manual scooters (no clutch), but not bikes before so I'm a beginner. I'm not too sure about how much I need to budget for, or whether it is best to buy top of the range or what. There doesn't seem to be a whole heap of 2nd hand womans my size floating around, so I will need to budget for new gear. How much would you recommend spending on a helmet! Boots! Jacket! Pants! Gloves! Also is leather or textile better! And is a fullface helmet 100% necessary!

kazbanz, Jun 28, 5:01am
DSF--sorry to be blunt but how pretty do you think your face is!
Now imagine it covered in scabs (at best)
So yep I feel a full face is pretty important.
If you really don't like the enclosed feeling you might want to concider an adventure lid.Also you will find some helmets have a bigger vzor that leaves you feeling less enclosed.
Gear wise for a novice rider and /or a rider on a budget I tend to reccomend a good set of Cudura gear. It offers wet weather protection and accident protection in that its got armour. Not being rude youll likely find cudura is easier to get in ladies sizing.
You will find you can buy guys gear and it adjusts in pretty well to suit a lady but you'll find the arm lenth is too long in the jacket.
Budget wise to kit yourself out head to toe I'd work on about $1000
Thatll get you a decent but not top level lid
Decent touring boots (not the blingo race boots)
Decent gloves
Decent pants and jacket.
Incidently the item I get the most complaints from novices is the gloves.
Good fitting ladies gloves are frankly pretty awfull the first time you wear them
I'd sugest leaving your gloves soaking in a sink full of water then wear them as often as you can untill they dry. Youll fin they mould/stretch better to your hands that way

leighfrancesca, Jun 28, 5:03am