Finally found a car - any issues with Foresters?

Page 1 / 2
jane310567, Oct 4, 10:04am
I reckon they look a bit naf but work on most levels, motor is 2000cc so should be able to tow trailer - seems reasonably economical - not too big, can get manual. I have no experience with Subarus so is the servicing expensive or anything else weird as the 2 cars I am looking at seem to have been listed months ago!

greta29, Oct 4, 10:31am
stay away from them they s#*t

greta29, Oct 4, 10:34am
get a toyota rav 4 they better but i not a fan of anything japa so yea just see what other people think

serf407, Oct 4, 10:36am
It helps if you have a look at the vin.
http://www.cars101.com/subaru/vin.html
The vin can be useful if researching for model specific faults.
Servicing can be more expensive on a subaru if there are faults that require the boxer 'engine out' to remedy, versus jobs which can be done less expensively 'engine in place' in a 'conventional longitudinal or transverse' engined car.
Have a look at Subaru specific online forums to see what the common issues are.

n1smo_gtir, Oct 4, 10:44am
What yr we talking here, turbo or non turbo. a lot of them share the ej20 with or without t for turbo. Overheating, blown head gaskets seems very common if not properly maintained through its entire life. 80 % woulda taken good thrashing in the past sadly.

icemans1, Oct 4, 3:21pm
Top Stolen Cars from AA Insurance

http://www.scoop.co.nz/stories/BU1111/S00254/top-stolen-cars-from-aa-insurance.htm

foresters rank 4th. people steal them - no problem

barrylarry, Oct 4, 3:30pm
subarus are sweet. they just have a really complicated valvetrain. Having to do with boxer engine. their cambelts tend to need replacing more often than other models.

jane310567, Oct 4, 7:41pm
this is a 2005 non-turbo.

desmodave, Oct 4, 7:56pm
cambelts tend to need replacing more often than other models.
What are these other models you speak of !