Akl Mechanic recommendations for R32 GTS4 please

mvr, Nov 15, 1:48am
Can anyone recommend a good mechanic in Auckland please,
that is familiar with Skylines.
Our normal place we go doesnt seem to know much about them.

In particular,the HICAS light is coming on and staying on.
(as soon as you turn the car on, not when open road driving).

And its only doing about 450kms per 60ltr tank of gas.
At this rate we need shares in an oil companylol !

Many thanks

intrade, Nov 15, 1:57am
the secound bit is probably to do with a faulty oxigen sensor or labda sond . it could offcourse also be the hicas turning against each others causing drag. What do the tyres look like inspect them for wear.
Ps i am no expert on hicas just know the absolut basics about em.

mvr, Nov 15, 2:26am
Thanks intrade,
its hard to find anyone who seems to know about them!
There is limited info on the Skyline forums.

The car is due for new tyres soon.
It has Toyo's on it from 3yrs ago.

Please excuse my ignorance, but whats a labda sond !
Thanks for mentioning the oxygen sensor,I've heard that before so I think that might be one of the problems.

mvr, Nov 15, 2:30am
We'd love to get it running properly/give it a good overhaul tune up etc,
but dont know a good place to take it to that deals with these cars,
its a bit old now (1992) must be nearing 'Classic' status soon lol !

incar., Nov 15, 2:35am
Gts4 getting 450kms on 60L of gas is about right, auto or manual! Open road driving or city driving, driving hard or slow

mvr, Nov 15, 2:50am
Manual.open road.
hmm probably not as hard as he'd like to drive itlol!

skyblue17, Nov 15, 3:00am
Do what my BIL did. Delete the Hicas. Plenty of info on google

vr4_legnum, Nov 15, 3:51am
Would go and see Soichi Tate of St Hitec or Joe Kyle of Joe's Mechanical Services both know hell alot about RB engines

xs1100, Nov 15, 7:52am
or even dodsons on the shore,they have set up the odd skyline or 20

mvr, Nov 15, 10:10am
Thanks so much!