My 1998 Corolla (very low km) is squealing at me

biggal, Dec 31, 12:26am
The question is why!
Clue 1;Whenever the motor is turned off, the motor goes peep as it stops running.
Clue 2; When the motor is idling, it can start squealing loudly which stops when the car is driven away.
Clue 3:The squealing only started from when I changed the oil and filter, something I've been doing for many years. The filter was a RycoZ386
which the Cheap Auto man assured me with hand on heart was the correct filter for my Corolla but I had my doubts when I had trouble engaging the
filter/engine block threads. It screwed up seemingly ok eventually. Then I noticed the old discarded filter was a Ryco Z432.
Maybe someone has a comparison list handy and can tell me the correct fliter for my car. Reasons for the squealng would be very welcome tooTIA

intrade, Dec 31, 12:30am
probably a worn fanbelt . my corolla also did that and still has a wee problem slipping have to tighten it a bit more.
Once it slipped for longer then the ribbelts will be worn and need replacing as tightening wont do mutch more then destroy bearings .

intrade, Dec 31, 12:35am

meathead_timaru, Dec 31, 12:38am
Z432 is not listed for any '98 Corolla. The Z386 has the same thread, just 10mm shorter body and 1mm smaller seal diameter.
http://www.rycofilters.com.au/catalogue/part/part/Z432 http://www.rycofilters.com.au/catalogue/part/part/Z386

You haven't said where the squeal is specifically coming from nor mentioned any steps you've taken to identify that. So I'm going to say it's just a worn accessory belt.

directorylist, Dec 31, 12:40am
from memory i think the filters are interchangable. The 432 i think is slightly longer!

gadgit3, Dec 31, 12:53am
432, 386 and 191a will all work fine an a 4A corolla

kazbanz, Dec 31, 3:38am