Jayco caravans? Recommendations?

devine-spark, Jan 4, 10:44pm
Looking at these based on a friend saying it is best to get an aluminium caravan as opposed to a fibreglass one because they are easier to repair. Also she said to look at a dual axle to be better fixed to go on rough roads. I need to buy one that is self contained. I am a newbie to caravans so would love some ideas. I have about 25 - 30k to spend and need an island bed. Any models anyone can suggest, or even not Jayco, I will be keen to hear about.

tony9, Jan 4, 10:59pm
To get an island bed you need to avoid UK and most continental vans, they are too narrow.

A slideout will help a lot as far as overall space is concerned.

Personally I would prefer fibreglass over aluminium, better insulation and minor scratches etc are easier to tidy up.

Without a doubt Jayco or a good NZ one will cause you less hassle, if you do go for a North American one, the electrical wof can be a hassle, just because it has one when you buy it, it does not follow that renewal will be easy.

The motor home club in NZ can be useful, but it can also be an expensive waste if you don't fully utilise it.

devine-spark, Jan 5, 3:06am
Thanks Tony, I didn't realise fibreglass would be a better insulator.
What brands are NZ made?

tony9, Jan 5, 3:53am
TrailLite and Leisure Line would be the two biggies.

BTW, it is usually not fiberglass OR aluminum construction. Most use both (front and back are typically fiberglass or similar) and modern walls are a composite which may use both.

thewomble1, Jan 5, 6:57am
Watch which side the door opens on. Some American ones open onto the road where as others open towards the footpath.

captaink, Jan 5, 8:46am