Recommendations please

pauline999, Feb 17, 10:46am
Daughter is looking for a car to accomodate 2 adults, 2 children (possibly 1 or 2 extra on the school pick up run) and 2 large dogs! She is hoping for $8k trade in on her current car and has approx $25K additional cash. She has been looking at Nissan Pathfinder but reviews don't always seem too encouraging. Total novices here where car makes and models are concerned but we have figured 2017 is about the right year to be looking?All help appreciated.

kazbanz, Feb 17, 11:11am
Pauline-Im guessing they want the 4x4 shape

tamarillo, Feb 17, 11:31am
IMO pathfinder is a bit too far to the proper 4 wheel drive design for her needs. All she really needs a decent sized wagon with enough across back seat for 3 kids and big boot dogs can get in to. Wagons are good value too.
Biggest is Skoda Superb (which NZ police will now be using) but if they prefer Japanese Mazda 6 is great wagon.
Size of dogs may come into it.
If however they want to follow trend to higher SUV stick to softroaders that are really just cars made tall not real off roaders. Mazda CX5 and Honda CRV springs to mind but equally Mitsi outlander has huge following. Getting 7 seater mostly means bigger and gas guzzling.

s_nz, Feb 17, 11:34am
The Pathfinder changed from a proper off roader to a car platfrom based soft roader back in 2012.

pauline999, Feb 17, 12:14pm
Just to clarify - 2nd adult will probably only be in the vehicle at weekends and current car is diesel which for some reason she doesn't want again so has to be petrol. Its to get her to work and back and children to and from school during the week plus husband and 2 dogs at the weekend, usually within Auckland region.

meow_mix, Feb 17, 12:55pm