Classic car hidden costs?

Page 1 / 2
v0rtrex, Feb 12, 3:30pm
I'm considering buying something from the 70's made in the US with 8 cylinders (much to the disgust of my wife) and aside from the obvious i.e fuel/insurance/repairs & maintenance, what other costs are there of owning a 50 year old car? I realize it depends upon make/model and $$ spent but just after a general idea of actual costs. cheers.

socram, Feb 12, 3:58pm
How long is a piece of string?

Basically, if you have already factored in fuel/insurance/repairs and maintenance which will also cover consumables, brake linings, tyres etc, I suppose most depends on what sort of mileage you are going to cover.

I've no experience of US V8's, but from what I have read, one of the biggest issues affecting classic cars is the petrol, as those components don't like ethanol. Rubber fuel lines and even carburettor gaskets for example.

The other issue these days is how fast you go through brake pads/linings now that asbestos is banned. Shocked that my wife's car which is only really used locally, needed new rear disc pads at 15,000kms and that is now considered normal.

From what I can gather, spares availability from the States for popular US V8's is pretty good.

You haven't said whether you are buying local or importing. I'd suggest the former makes more sense on the basis of less hassle.

brouser3, Feb 12, 4:27pm
MMake sure somebody reputable checks it out in real life. Don't take the word of the seller in good faith. Many have and been faced with a massive bill to get it roadworthy for NZ standards Some just get 'parted out' the repairs needed to great. There is no universal road safety standard requirement there so buyer beware

realtrader1, Feb 12, 4:49pm
Where? On many issues it depends on the particular State.

gph1961, Feb 12, 5:11pm
string is cut to length as required

lovelurking, Feb 12, 5:25pm
Divorce would be the biggest hidden cost by far. 😘🤣

kazbanz, Feb 12, 5:49pm