Stihl chainsaw fuel

Page 2 / 2
paul861, Oct 19, 8:15pm
the lead could foul the plug, seen it happen on lawn mowers

framtech, Oct 19, 8:38pm
Funny thing is lower octane fuel has a higher calorific value (produces more energy per unit) it's more about the speed of the burn.
Ive been using 91 in my chainsaws for 40 years, in fact I have a small echo trim saw that is a least 40 years old now and still going strong( it must be on its 20th bar and 40th chain).
Whats changed over the years is the pump gas is lead free (except for avgas which I understand still has shitloads of poisonous tetraethyl lead in it).
All this bullshit about fuel, in a now throw away society is a bit of a joke.
I could understand when they stopped using lead in fuel and valve wear but if you run the average shopping basket - i wouldn't lose any sleep over the fuel - use what gets you the best economy (by real testing not keyboard warrior estimates), The computers in modern cars will tune to be safe (knock the spark back but be less economical), your pocket is the test.

framtech, Oct 19, 8:46pm
Avgas is an issue in gear that uses O2 sensors and should really only used for airplanes and race motors that have high compression ratios.

marte, Oct 19, 8:52pm
Higher octane fuel is for higher compression motors that will cram more air & oxygen into the compression zone for a better explosion, without preignition ( Well actually it's a 'rapid expansion of gases' as Intrade mentions, it's a 'Slap', not a bang )

How a engine compensates for lower octane & preignition, is to inject more fuel to dampen out the air/fuel mix, which just means it uses more, of a cheaper fuel.
While the extra petrol has a tendency to wipe more lubrication off the cylinder walls & away from the rings. Which causes lots of problems in European cars.

Handy if you have a Japanese car.
It's printed on the inside of the fuel cap, even if it's a ex Japanese Euro.

Regular gasoline (レギュラー), 89 Octane or above