Toyota Corolla 02-07 your thoughs about it please!

will_98, Oct 21, 8:22am
Hi fellow trademe users, Im looking at getting a corolla between the 02 to 07 shape to relpace my 1998 camry v6 as it thirsty at the pump. I just want to get your thoughs on it. Thanks

r15, Oct 21, 8:32am
boring, otherwise fine. personally i prefer them to the newer model though having had both as work vehicles

the Runx-Z (hatch) or Fielder-Z (wagon) is the semi fun version with ll the bells and whistles. and another claimed 40~kw from factory & 6 speed

fordcrzy, Oct 21, 8:42am
get the 1800 not the 1500

phillip.weston, Oct 21, 9:16am
utterly boring (to drive and look at) but utterly reliable.

mugenb20b, Oct 21, 9:18am
It's bigger, more powerful and equally economical.

oscar220, Oct 21, 9:24am
May be more powerful, but the 1.5 goes very well andgenerally will be cheaper to buy.
I'm not an expert but how can it be bigger!

richardmayes, Oct 21, 9:26am
#4 - Because the 1800 makes more power!
It's not compulsory to drive around with your foot to the floor, but when you do want to pass someone or get into a gap it is better to have the fizz available than to not have it.
Both models weigh the same, and the power only comes on when you rev it so overall fuel consumption won't be much different between the two.

There are a lot of haters around here that would have you think a Toyota eats your soul the minute you hop in - don't listen to them; we have an 1800cc Corolla at work and it's a fun little car to drive around town in. A Fiat or VW badge on the front does little on its own transform a basic 4-cylinder hatchback into anything it's not, but the various fanboys will be along in a minute to tell you black is white.

If you can be bothered keeping the revs up you'll be able to make progress just as fast as you could in your V6.

They are a much smaller car than a Camry though, so you might want to convince yourself you won't miss the extra room.!

trdbzr, Oct 21, 11:05am