Toyota Corolla 1989 SE Limited - drivers door?

littlerae1, Apr 7, 8:48pm
Rust is starting to show through the bottom of the drivers door and I was told at the last W.O.F. check that it won't pass the next check.I was also told that buying a door can work out cheaper than going to the Panel Beaters.

I am new to all this "car parts" stuff and would like to know how to go about getting a door!Are they easy to change over or would it be better to get a professional to do it!

VEHICLE DETAILS:

Make: TOYOTA
Model: COROLLA
Year: 1989
Submodel: SE LIMITED
Main colour: White
Vehicle type: Passenger Car/Van
Body style: Saloon
No of seats: 5
CC rating: 1,498cc
Fuel type: Petrol
Assembly type: Imported Built-Up
Country of origin: Japan
Axle type: 2-Axle
No of axles: 2

VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION:
VIN: 7A8H6070796091185
Plate:
Plate type: Standard
Engine no: UNKNOWN
Chassis: AE91-3091185

murdoko, Apr 7, 8:52pm
they're really easy to change over but you have to find a door with the right colour first. I guess it can be tricky if you aren't really mechanically-minded but if you are, then do it. Also, it depends if you get a whole complete door including all the bits already installed or just a bare door where you have to swap over all the mechanical parts. That's when it can be a bit tricky. One thing's for sure, he's right about the advise to just replace the door instead of going to the panel beaters.

littlerae1, Apr 7, 8:58pm
Doors have mechanical parts!I might have to get a professional then.Do I go to a wreckers and they find a door and change it for me!

kcf, Apr 7, 9:04pm
Is the car a four door sedan, or a five door liftback!

The reason I ask, is that the five door liftback (not five door hatchback) is a different shape and will *not* fit a four door sedan or five door hatch.

littlerae1, Apr 7, 9:33pm
4-door sedan.

Is the chassis AE91 also the body shape!So if I search for AE91, will I find the correct door model for my car!

r15, Apr 7, 9:52pm