Volvo 5 cyl engines

Page 1 / 3
the-lada-dude, Dec 10, 10:10pm
any experts out there !
are N/A heads same as turbo
is an old model eng same as late model !
the basic eng i mean,block/head

thejazzpianoma, Dec 10, 10:46pm
Dude, I am far from an expert. However this is a little bit about how I "think" it all works.
Old and new heads will be different as I am pretty sure the old heads did not have variable valve timing. On the new heads I have a funny feeling that the variable valve timing is different on the turbo and non-turbo. The heads I have noticed seem to have provision for variable valve timing on both intake and exhaust but one is usually blocked off.
As crazy as it sounds I think the variable valve timing is fitted only to exhaust on the turbo and only to the intake on the N/A. happy to be proven wrong on this though.

Its possible the block is the same on old and new but I don't know. There are also a few different displacements on those 5 Cylinder engines so you would need to see whether this is done with bore or stroke.

Nice engines though, what is it you are trying to achieve!

mlh19658, Dec 10, 10:57pm
Wouldn't ever go near Volvo. Ever, ever, ever again. NEVER. Expensive lemons beyond reason/bank balance to repair and maintain.
In fact, Jap is best. IMHO.

bill-robinson, Dec 10, 11:01pm
used to run a rallycross car in Europe against them.1000hp plus but did not want to go around corners. Very spectacular and reliable Sorry cant help with the original query.Bill

thejazzpianoma, Dec 10, 11:14pm
This is just weird.
Parts are a little dearer in NZ but only because of a lack of 3rd party importers. Volvo's as a whole though are very reliable and the S40 has consistently shown in surveys/tests to be one of the most reliable modern cars available.

the-lada-dude, Dec 10, 11:50pm
thanks jazz ,
ta fellas,
19992ltroverheat .gasket gone, do these heads crack / lose their