Ford focus as a family car!

Page 2 / 2
chris_051, Feb 4, 9:29am
I see you took a Falcon for a drive, I've no experience with the Mondeo V6 but I'd say the Falcon is just as economical, if not more and 10 times better value. I've had a few 4.0 Falcons, all high mileage ones but the best one would consistently do 7.5-7.6l/100km running up and down SH1 between Akl and Wgtn (not the best road for economy especially around the central N. Island). BAs are cheap these day, you'll get a decent XR6 or Fairmont for 10 grand and they are completley bulletproof and dependable (generally speaking). Well proven on NZ roads don't let the 4.0 give you a wrong impression of poor economy, fit an external trans cooler and stick to service intervals and you shouldn't have anything to worry about.

fordcrzy, Feb 5, 1:07am
oh in that case i would DEFINITLEY dump it fast.those old mondies are RRRRRRRRubbish. even i wouldn't buy one.

craigsmith, Feb 5, 1:43am
Are you looking at new cars or what! What's your budget!

Either way the Mk3 and Mk4 Mondeos are both excellent. The Mk3 2.0 Duratec is a regular 4-cylinder alloy block that's fairly simple and reliable, and gives decent economy. Especially in manual it's gives perfectly acceptable performance. Go find a 2005+ model and try. But don't expect it to drive like an ST because obviously it won't.

If you want a four door hatchback of decent size, larger than a Focus, which is what you seem to want, then your options are very limited. Mondeo, Mazda6/Atenza, or if you are looking at new cars, they are becoming popular again - refer new Audi A5 Sportback etc.

jojo76, Feb 5, 2:40am
Our mondeo is'nt an ST just a 2003 2.5 v6 auto.
We did try a 2007 2.3 and found it gutless compared to ours.

vtecintegra, Feb 5, 2:49am
The new model is significantly bigger and heavier than the old ones.Perhaps try a diesel instead, significantly torquier

craigsmith, Mar 14, 5:18pm