Hey jazz you awake.

nave12, Jan 23, 8:36am
He go non eye for awhile,but the bear shall return as it is his knowledge that is needed so he shall return.sometime.

thejazzpianoma, Jan 23, 8:45am
Pretty much any of the other Euro Vans is better than a Ford Transit in my opinion. I am not impressed with the Ford at all.

Now that said I am no expert on the LT, so can't tell you a whole lot about it. What I do know is its basically a Mercedes Sprinter with a different grill and a VW powertrain.

The design came out in 1996 so is not super modern. That said they were fairly popular and I would say a reasonable machine. I think the 2.8 is a common rail and the 2.5 is not. Not sure on what the refinement will be like, it came out at a transitional time between the age of the "agricultural" Euro van and the "you would think you were driving a car" Euro van.

In general I would personally not buy a non-common rail van, just not responsive enough. That said of the old technology diesels the VW ones were about the pick of the bunch.

Thats about all I know sorry, best thing is to go and have a drive and see what you think. I would have pretty good faith in the VW product of that age group but do some more research on it if you can. You will find plenty of second and third hand story's about any Euro vans giving trouble so just take care and sort the wheat from the chaff in terms of what you hear.

Be especially weary of story's about clutch and flywheel problems, those are almost guaranteed to be the fault of the driver.

Hope thats of some help. just remember, avoid the Transit!

Edit: One more thing, even if they like it and think its really nice to drive they should drive all the options, especially the 2.3 Ducato and the Sprinter.

thejazzpianoma, Jan 23, 8:46am
LOL, just popped back for another Jazz request so put my 2C on this one too!

nave12, Jan 23, 8:51am
Good on ya Jazz i never disrespect ya.

thejazzpianoma, Jan 23, 8:55am