Insurance for a 16 year old.

gooddealz2, May 25, 2:01am
Thought I'd ask out of interest.I own a 1992 VP SS Commodore which of course is a V8.I have given my just turned 16 year old daughter a number of lessons quite happily as I'm an ex driving instructor on all types of terrain in all conditions fortunately without incident.I rang up my insurance company the other day to try and get a better deal on one of my other cars and thought whilst I was on that I should get her added to approved drivers for the Holden only under my supervision.I expected to pay a higher premium but they would not insure for her at any price.Is there an insurance company out there that would and if so what kind of premium would I be looking at!I emphasise that she will not be driving this car on her own at any point in the near future.

hopie, May 25, 2:56am
NAC but dont expect any change out of 2months wages minimum

grangies, May 25, 6:39am
It funny with insurance companies how they emphasize engine size over power to weight ratio.

An old 1992 SS Commodore isn't exactly a power house.

mears69, May 25, 6:44am
try a company called TOWES motor insurance, i found them in the yellow pages and i think they are based in hawkes bay, they are a broker.

i got insurance with NAC alot cheaper through them than i did going direct with NAC. not sure how it works tho.

i have never been told no, and i have had quite a few perfomance cars (turbo, boy racer type) and the costs havent been to bad. excess is slightly higher tho.

gooddealz2, May 25, 12:31pm
It funny with insurance companies how they emphasize engine size over power to weight ratio.

An old 1992 SS Commodore isn't exactly a power house.

grangies (30 )6:39 pm, Fri 25 May #3