Swift vs Polo

Page 2 / 2
smac, Jul 26, 8:54pm
Just my 10c on the 'outdated technology' argument that gets thrown around a bit with regard to cars.

I am all for progress, finding better ways of doing stuff is what I do for a living. However all to often what I see tagged as "advancements" are nothing more than different, usually more expensive, ways of addressing non existent issues.

Maybe I have particularly low expectations of cars (I suspect I have) but to me:
Power seats
Duel zone climate (WTF! the vents are 30cm from each other!)
Push button start
Rain sensing wipers
CVT's
etc etc

Are all just gimmicks that cost money to fix, introduced to solve non-existent problems.

So when I hear that a particular car is "years behind in technology" I take that with a grain of salt. Look at what the car actually delivers you, how much it costs, and what it will cost you over time by all means. But 'new' is not a selling point for me. 'New' means unproven.

Classic example - since they were introduced mechanics and manufacturers alike have known that people don't maintain auto transmissions like they should. Service intervals get missed regularly. Quality deteriorates as a result. People resent the short term cost, ignoring the long term benefit.

SO what do they do! Introduce CVT that punishes missed services even more! But it's new.it must be better.

Direct injection the same - great on paper, the fuel savings are awesome! But then you read how much a new high pressure pump or leaking fuel system, or heaven forbid injectors that are coded to the ECU (WTF!) costs.