Wheel nut issue. Your opinions please

mackenzie2, Nov 13, 12:15am
My car got a new WOF yesterday in Christchurch, it needed 3 new tyresI then drove 200kms home, this morning look at car and the hubcap is missing! BUT worse it is missing one of the wheel nuts also! Have rung the garage who did the WOF and he told me he doesn't give a toss, that he had done them up with the gun so they should have been tight enough, I am a trainee mechanic and have been taught to check them manually after, do I have any come back on the garage, am really hoping this has not caused any major damage! Your opinons please.

mackenzie2, Nov 13, 12:17am
Should have noted, I brought the car yesterday also, and had asked the previous owner to get a new WOF before purchase, No problems with car itself, just the Garage. Car looks bl**dy awful without the hubcap!

motorboy2011, Nov 13, 12:24am
name and shame

mackenzie2, Nov 13, 12:28am
Ohhh not sure if I am allowed to am I! We are in a small rural town and get our WOF's done here, the previous owner had used this garage before so obvioulsy just took it there again,

mackenzie2, Nov 13, 12:31am
The garage is a MTA member, so I may ring them.

bellky, Nov 13, 12:41am
Don't go back there.

mackenzie2, Nov 13, 12:42am
Ha certainly won't be

kazbanz, Nov 13, 1:43am
You are a trainee mechanic and you can't assess the damage yourself!

mrfxit, Nov 13, 1:58am
No damage reported or apparent apart from a missing hubcap & wheel nut.

mrfxit, Nov 13, 1:58am
No damage reported or apparent apart from a missing hubcap & wheel nut .
As long as the other nuts were done up ok, then there won't be any damage to the rims or studs.
Do you drive with the stereo up loud! because you should have been able to hear that nut banging around in the hubcap

elect70, Nov 13, 2:37am
must be an oldie to have hubcaps ., anyway tell garageman he is an arsewipe .

mackenzie2, Nov 13, 3:04am