Wof failed - garage wants $530

Page 1 / 2
kieran211, Jun 19, 3:59am
fair enough if it failed - but I almost feel as if they're just trying to fleece me.
one thing was rocker cover gasket leaky onto exhaust - is this even a wof issue, I haven't noticed any smoke or oil drips on the clean concrete at home?
$120

other thing they said was top left engine mount is apparently broken - well doesn't look broken to me, but then I'm not sure what a broken one actually looks like - I'm imagining the rubber inner is broken away from the outer?
$140

bit of a novice here sorry - still learning.

the other bit $290 for front break pads & rotors replacement seemed more legit

toyboy3, Jun 19, 4:06am
Take the car to another WOF place !

kazbanz, Jun 19, 4:10am
Kierean--That sounds like a fair and reasonable charge for a ferarri.
-What Year/make/model is the car?
$140 to replace an engine mount sounds pretty average same with the rotors etc.
if you want to save the $140 for the cover gasket then clean up all the oil leaks from it so the engines clean.You might find if its an older Nissan that putting a 10mm spanner over all the cover bolts will stiop the weep

doglover2003, Jun 19, 4:11am
Potential fire hazard leaky gasket.
Just buy after market parts from supercheap ripco etc they have rotors
cheap on a good day.
I know how you feel, I usually feel like that like they were out to get me.
Just think lately its for my safety and others. Last wof on truck right rear tyre as bald as but failed on tie-rod. Recent motorbike WOF failed cause of front wheel bearing only but front pads had mm of pad left.
Bit of a joke WOF's going on recent experiences but they could go even harder if they wanted to. Truck wof guy even sold tyres :)

ceebee2, Jun 19, 4:28am
+1 and when they pass it they will see it failed previously. you simply repaired them didn't you?

doglover2003, Jun 19, 4:30am
Go to a place that only does WOF's, no repairs to avoid conflict of interest

2sheddies, Jun 19, 4:30am