Motorbike expert? Suzuki gn125 question

Page 1 / 3
kiwigrl2, Jun 9, 4:31pm
Hi, hoping someone might have some insight. I am new to riding and wanted to get my Learners, so bought a 2020 Suzuki GN125 as I heard it’s an easy bike to learn on. With the plan on upgrading when I get a bit more confident. I bought it from a trusted dealership in Auckland, pre owned but only about 2 months old. 300kms on the clock so basically new. My issue is with the bike starting. I have to have the choke out, and even then it takes 5 or more attempts to actually start. Then I have to stand there as it revs itself like crazy, so that it warms up, sometimes more than 5 mins of standing there waiting. When I try to get on and ride away too soon, it loses power and doesn’t go anywhere. It’s extremely frustrating! Once it’s eventually going, it’s absolutely fine. But is this normal? I wasn’t expecting issues from a new bike. I was thinking of getting it looked at, but thought I’d ask around first in case this is a common issue with this sort of bike. Thanks

kazbanz, Jun 9, 4:57pm
A choke isn't all or nothing. You might find you actually need half choke rather than full choke to start the bike the easiest. You also don't slam the choke shut after a couple of minutes for example. Shut it off by increments.
THAt said--if the bike is as you say all but brand new it may be in need of its first service. Those little suzuki125's have been around forever so its unlikely to be faulty.

kiwigrl2, Jun 9, 5:25pm
Thanks for that, yeah I definitely do shut the choke off in increments (after 5 or more minutes of standing around waiting), if I slam it shut the bike does completely. Just seems very strange to have these issues on a new bike. Will probably take it for a service then

kazbanz, Jun 9, 5:53pm
There are a range of small adjustments made to a simple motorcycle at its first service. So im betting it will start far better after that is done

gblack, Jun 9, 7:28pm