Replacing headlight 2001 Ford Falcon advice please

budsgal, Oct 15, 7:56pm
2001 Ford Falcon AUII XR6 4FA
My car needs a new headlight as current has been broken by stone hitting the glass. I have been told headlights are hard to source, but to replace the headlight the front bumper etc will need to come off to do it.
Question has anyone done this before, and how big a job are we talking to get it replaced? Appreciate advice as Im not a mechanically minded person .

gunhand, Oct 15, 8:07pm
Last time I removed one it was like 4000 clips 200 screws and generally a pain in the butt. I am getting older so that may be a slight (not to slight) exaggeration. And you can get lights easy enough off TM, plenty of listing for parts and can be a bit pricey. That was to replace the bumper itself. Could be an easier way to get at lights though.

cattleshed, Oct 15, 8:18pm
Generally you never have to completely remove the bumper just sufficient screws and clips to move the bumper down sufficiently on that side to unbolt the light and extract.

franc123, Oct 15, 8:32pm
Dont forget to fit Liteskinz to all of them while you are in there.

budsgal, Oct 15, 8:33pm
it doesn't have great value, but its quite reliable and handy for my needs so weighing up fixing it or letting it go with the info I was given. Would I be better to take to auto electrician or panel beater? thank you for the replies, much appreciated.

skully13, Oct 15, 8:45pm
Didn't remove the whole bumper, to replace my one, just remove enough screws and bolts to get to it. from what I can remember there is 1 bastard bolt hidden that you wouldn't think would be there. Just be thankful you are only having to replace the glass. Wait until you have to replace the bucket/bracket that holds the lights. They are getting hard to find in useable condition.

gunhand, Oct 15, 8:49pm