96 terrano r50 engine check light flashing

romanofski, Feb 19, 10:49am
Hey guys, I've just bought a '97 PR50 terrano 2.7 TD manual. Has done a fair bit of Kms but still drives alright. However, when I drive downhill and I use the engine brake to slow me down, I get the engine check light that flashes. I just stop for a few secs and it will stop but does come back on if i use the engine brake again.
I do apologize if my brief description doesn't make sense but I am a complete novice with cars. Hopefully someone can help me :)
Thanks

kramsnave, Apr 1, 6:30am
Driving home from work tonight the orange engine check light starting flashing, any ideas or do i need a scan(td27eti) Truck is manual, all fluids are good.

jasongroves, Apr 1, 6:39am
Is it flashing in any sort of series/pattern! Like 1 long, 2 short flashes!

kramsnave, Apr 1, 6:41am
looks like a continuous blink,

jasongroves, Apr 1, 6:44am
you can check the ECU codes yourself.hold on and I will post some pics.

jasongroves, Apr 1, 6:46am
Should look like this where the fuse box is!
http://img11.imageshack.us/img11/6997/75837677.jpg

steelman3, Apr 1, 6:51am
brake lights in mine

steelman3, Apr 1, 6:52am
x1
how do you check them

jasongroves, Apr 1, 6:52am

kramsnave, Apr 1, 7:01am
cheers for that, I'll have a look in the morning when I can see, I just took it for a spin down the road and the check light has disappeared for the moment but will see if a code pops up when I bridge the connection

mugenb20b, Apr 1, 7:32am
It may sound silly, but check the air intake hose for splits between the air filter box and turbocharger. This seems to be a common fault on these models, so what often happens is the air flow sensor doesn't get the right reading (as most of the air will be drawn through the split in the hose). I'm not saying that this is the problem, but it can be.

gtrmotorsport, Apr 1, 7:39am