What's the best way to upgrade Bighorn brakes.

battleaxe, Sep 14, 7:41am
we have a 94 Bighorn Lotus and the breaks are OK but not great. What's the best way to upgrade them so the stopping power improves!

skull, Sep 14, 7:49am
I'm no mechanic but I guess you could weld a bigger pad onto the brake pedal so you could get both clodhoppers onto it.

battleaxe, Sep 14, 7:55am
sounds great. will get the welder once i've finished my beer

thunderbolt, Sep 14, 7:57am
Better quailty pads would be first stop.
What are the rotors like!

battleaxe, Sep 14, 7:58am
rotors ok. a little worn but not warped. are there upgrade kits or am i stuck with what i've got!

flack88, Sep 14, 8:17am
Is it a diesel!The petrol ones might have bigger calipers,like Nissan safaris do ,put Mintex brake pads on,they are expensive but work well.

andy61, Sep 14, 8:27am
Breaks! you wouldn`t want them breaking eh!

battleaxe, Sep 14, 8:36am
thanks for pointing out the typo. any suggestions on my brakes!

lyonruge, Sep 14, 8:44am
Check the vacuum at the booster, is it diesel, will have a vacuum pump on alternator, may be weak!

barnyg, Sep 14, 9:32am
make sure the rear caliper slides are not siezed. have 97 one of these brakes were ok but not great freed up the rear slides and put minetx pads in brakes greatly improved

mrfxit, Sep 14, 9:54am
That beasty should already have 4 pot calipers on the front, not sure about the bighorn, but even my std 88 Surf has monster 4 pot calipers on the front.
Pad type makes a huge difference to them.
Skim the rotors, softer (better quality) pads, make sure the backs are working properly or better still just go ahead & rekit the whole system

rocky0169, Sep 14, 9:57am
The big horns allso use 2 different diameter disc rotors. check surface thickness is even. pad ware. as other poster said a rekit wouldnt hurt. are you getting any pedal pulsation under braking!

battleaxe, Sep 14, 7:31pm
no pulsation under heavy braking but not great grip either. thanks for the posts.