Weird Air Con.helps!

b-rowdy, Mar 12, 7:50am
I have never used air con before in my cars until this one, Rav4, and have started because the other half called me a Jew for not using it lol, but now when I use it (its really noisy) it mists stuff out of it like darn fog, and when I turn it off it smells. salty? Its the only way to describe the smell, like chemically salty lol, any ideas on what its up to?

daryl14, Mar 12, 7:54am
Sounds like the internal heat exchanger inside the heater is leaking engine coolant. Look for wet spots in the footwell. Coolant does have a sweet smell. Have you run it a long time to see if the misting goes away?

b-rowdy, Mar 12, 7:57am
Yeah the misting only lasts for a wee bit, longer on demist, no wet spots that I've noticed yet and Im pretty fussy about cleaning it lol

daryl14, Mar 12, 7:59am
Ok that sounds good. Maybe just see if there are any blocked drains from the bottom of the heater that could use a clean out.

b-rowdy, Mar 12, 8:02am
Sweet, will do, have to get the man to do it or he wont feel manly but thanks for the help :)

tamarillo, Mar 12, 6:42pm
Has it had a good long run as yet?
If so and still not right they can put the system under pressure to check on leaks and whether it had enough gas.
Depending where you are there are mobile services for this that can come to you if need be.

intrade, Mar 12, 6:59pm
make sure its not coolant smell keep a close eye on the water level expansion bowl usually on toyota it draws water from there untill it runs out of that water then it uses whats in the radiator untill it has not enough and overheats. Best just to squeeze the radiator hoses not to open the cap as that wears off the cap seal and plastic neck over time .
once your sure it is the ac side .
I hope it is not refrigerqant you smell Normally ac have a wierd smell from bacteria but it dont smells how you discribed it . clean water must come out of cars vent drain hose from aircon pooling under car when aircon is on.