Brake question stability control and abs

phalanax, Aug 30, 12:16pm
Drove a car today the brake pedal doesnt seem firm. seems spongy then gets firm. pedal not high and sensitive (like im used to) put your foot on brake pedal drops (spongy like) near 2cm before the brake system starts doing its bit (gets firm). driving it seems ok just the pedal seems to have movement before activating (seems low). stop the vehicle and apply hard (very firm not stomping hard) pressure to the pedal and the stability control warning lights up and sounds after about 2 seconds of holding pedal down as far as it will go (car not moving). this car has hill assist as well. pull handbrake (while stopped and pedal travel is reduced (about where it should be). Is this normal ,Im new to cars with stability control and hill assist braking. The stability control light and buzzer goes away if you take your foot off the pedal. This warning light and buzzer only activates if you are stationary and hold your foot down on the brake pedal hard for about 2 seconds. Brake fluid seems normal. abs seems to be working. stability working when you drive (can feel it on the steering wheel). brake pads still have decent amount of pad on them. could there be air in the lines? It doesnt happen if you are stopped and have just normal foot pedal pressure on the brakes. only when stationary and with very firm brake pedal pressure. Thoughts.

phalanax, Aug 30, 12:36pm
Car also has an abs light. this isnt lighting up.Only the stability control light when stopped and very firmly holding brake pedal down. Abs is working. can feel it doing its thing. brake normally and hold the pedal down normal when stopped and the stability control doesnt light up . only when you hold pedal down very firmly, only when stopped. Could this be the stability control on/ off. activation method? It only does this when the vehicle is stationary (not moving) .

skull, Aug 30, 8:13pm