Charging battery on car with computer / C.P.U !

ignoramus1, Sep 15, 9:44pm
ok im no electronics expert the car is 4 liter Fairmontwith a computer /cpu unit . I am wondering if it is dangerous to the health of the computer to charge the battery WITHOUT disconecting it ( removeing positive terminal) just using a handyman type 3 amp charger overnight.

Logic would suggest just clip the charger on without removing the leads on battery , but the reason i ask is that chargers dont realy give a "clean" power supply (kind of a truncated sine wave rater than a flat clean DC.)

MY worry is that the "pulsing" of the charger could damage the CPU

any comments!.thanks

sgrants, Sep 15, 9:54pm
It is advisable to disconnect the battery when charging!

ignoramus1, Sep 15, 10:08pm
any particular reason why it is advisable! .

sgrants, Sep 15, 10:31pm
spiking damage to electronics!

pup2, Sep 15, 10:52pm
This is a good question. Would like to hear peoples opinion on this. We disconnect the battery when charging the battery in the car, but we also sell maintenance chargers that work at 1500mA and lower, with the sole purpose to maintain the battery when the vehicle doesn't get used very often. Customers fit these to their new cars (eg-ford boss), 4wd's etc. Battery is not disconnected when the charger is connected to the battery. Hasn't damaged any modules.

andrea_w, Sep 15, 10:52pm
Also. remove the Negative terminal, not the Positive

crzyhrse, Sep 15, 10:52pm
I've never bothered and never had any problem. I went through a spate of leaving the boot ajar and deep discharging the battery about 4 times in a couple of months and just charged it still connected. Same car too.

elect70, Sep 16, 12:08am