Nissan Safari GQ diesel fuel-system bleeding

age911, Feb 11, 9:12am
Any Nissan Safari diesel experts out there! - I replaced the fuel filter on my '91 4.2 diesel Safari / Patrol this morning.Not the first time I've done it and haven't had any issues before - just remove the old one, swap over the bits that hang off the bottom, fill with clean fuel, refit, bleed at the filter housing using the manual pump thing, start and drive away.Today hasn't been that straight forward though. Fitted the new filter, and the engine started ok, but after a minute or two the idle would drop to the point that the engine would stall.Figured out how to bleed the injector pump (I'm no diesel mechanic unfortunately!), so pumped fuel through using the manual pump.No difference, although it seems to run ok once it gets over 800 rpm or thereabouts, but will still eventually stall when idling.Conversely, sometimes it will idle reasonably well, but won't accelerate over 1200rpm!So far I have - bled the IP, bled the injectors (at least I think I have - fuel comes out when I crack the injector nuts, with the engine running), refitted the old filter (just in case the new one was faulty), and bled the filter.All with no success.I did notice when removing the fuel filter (which I've did a few times during the course of the day) that it was only about a third full.I've filled it to the top each time it's gone on - should it always be full!
All of this has taken up the most of the day; my wife isn't happy 'cos the grass didn't get cut, but my priority has to be getting my truck running properly!Any suggestions you may have as to how I can resolve this situation (my truck problem, not the lawn mowing.) would be most appreciated, thank you.

owene, Feb 11, 9:19am