Cambelt replacement on '97 RS Legacy

Page 1 / 2
tumeke4ueh, Jun 27, 12:26pm
hi there, does anyone know someone in christchurch or north canty who can do this with reasonable rates!thnx :)

angelab, Jun 27, 12:47pm
There is a reason every 15 yr old subaru needs a cambelt now or is overdue. $100scambelt only , you would be a fool to not replace idlers, tentioners etc. My best bet is that it will cost what the car is worth. .The next guy up willhave a better idea than me but he is a real mechanic with a job and is asleep right now. Listen to them when they tell you to drive it into the ground as far as the motor goes and buy a 7 year old boring Toyota or Nissan that doesn"t go Doof Doof.

jasongroves, Jun 27, 12:48pm
Neil Stuart Automotive.
Knows his Subarus.

jasongroves, Jun 27, 12:49pm
WTF!

angelab, Jun 27, 1:10pm
WTF!. I am an ex mechanic with advanced trade cert ,before changing to a more interesting vocation.The O.P is asking about a 15 yr old high maintenancevehicle. I am giving themmy advice. By all means give them yours as well. The more informed people that put a price on the job the better. O.P. asked for a price for the job. Did you give them one! What is the job worth to do properly! What is a 15 year old Sub RS worth!Good money after bad may not be clever. Give the O.P. a price and some options. Please O.P. Tell us what the cambelt, tensioners, idlers and seals costs and what you decide to do. Keep all options open and best of luck.

tumeke4ueh, Jun 27, 1:19pm
I would need to know -
1. Individual cost to purcase a cambelt, waterpump, tensioners, idlers and seals and the best place to purchase these parts.
2.Typical approximate costing for a mechanic to do the replacement.
Thanks very much for your help : )

tumeke4ueh, Jun 27, 1:20pm
Neil Stuart Automotive! Have you had dealings with him or know people that have, or heard other customer feedback on them!Cheers for your help :)

jasongroves, Jun 27, 1:21pm