How long would it take to do ford falcon work.

Page 1 / 2
farnortherner, Aug 23, 5:16am
on ford falcon ef stationwagon.I am needing a mechanic to put it in and wanting to know an estimate of how long this would take to do.for New Belt and new Radiator to be installed.Thanks.

unbeatabull, Aug 23, 5:25am
Drivebelt! No more then 2 hours, if he was to drain and flush the engine cooling system, reseal the hoses, recheck the system, top up the Trans (assume its an Auto - transcooler is built into the radiator) etc.

farnortherner, Aug 23, 5:32am
Hi Yes one Big Belt.and has to take off old radiator do the drivebelt and put on the radiator and hoses again. It is automatic.

farnortherner, Aug 23, 5:32am
but with new radiator

thunderbolt, Aug 23, 5:33am
The rad does not have to come out to replace the drive belt or tensioner.

But you have just added you want a new rad fitted, so ignore that

farnortherner, Aug 23, 5:35am
Im no mechanic, Ive only done oil changes, new sparkplugs on the ford and new spark leads.Im a female but will give anything a try myself so just wanted to know how long for taking off and putting new belt and new radiator on my ford falcon ef.

farnortherner, Aug 23, 5:36am
so 2 hrs maximum time with new radiator as well!

farnortherner, Aug 23, 5:42am
ngaww yeah hell 2 hrs thats a rip off, I will do myself only looks like a 40 minute job, thanks anyway.But yeah will just do myself.

NZTools, Aug 23, 5:46am
You may be able to do it in 40 minutes and save yourselffew bucks, but are you saving anything if you don't bleed it properly and cook the engine!

farnortherner, Aug 23, 5:51am
ngaww wow bleeding the radiator do you mean! ngaww

intrade, Aug 23, 5:54am
bleeding the air out of the cooling system , dont forget you need coolant not plain water .

tshop, Aug 23, 5:58am
Job should be a snatch to do, use a good anti freeze (greenstuff) soon after if you can, it extends the life of cooling system & your engine which is a good one.