Looking to buy a Ute

Page 1 / 3
saturn51, Dec 11, 10:27am
G'day team, I'm looking at selling my wee 1.3L Tercel sedan and buying a Ute of some sort (most likely 2.2L to 2.6L) for general running about and also to use as a tow vehicle for my Production Saloon (VK Commodore). As I am a bit of a car newbie, I thought this would be the place to ask for advice. I'm a Uni student on a budget of around $4,000 so have been looking at Ford Couriers in the 1990-94 range as I have heard they are bulletproof. Any advice or discussion would be much appreciated!

Cheers,
Rob.

nightboss, Dec 11, 11:50am
For the towing you mention you should estimate the all up towing weight. Car, trailer and equipment. A quick estimate would put that at about 2,500kg, so the trailer must be braked. Towing ratings for vehicles are given as braked and unbraked (eg: my 4wd towbar is rated at 800/2000kg).

I hope this helps with the selection of Ute for your needs.

daryl14, Dec 11, 6:44pm
You're a Uni student! do your self a favour and sell the race car. You have no business owning it. Just my opinion. You're gonna make life very hard for yourself if you keep blowing money on that shit.

mugenb20b, Dec 11, 6:45pm
The Couriers in that age group can have gearbox problems, and can blow head gaskets if the cooling systems have been neglected. Good utes otherwise. 2.0 litre petrol is just about useless for towing a car trailer, 2.2 goes a lot better, and I don't like the 2.6, but either way, make sure the tow bar is up the job.

splinter67, Dec 11, 6:54pm
What a tosspot

splinter67, Dec 11, 6:55pm
Are you planning to travel or just race at temarua!

sr2, Dec 11, 7:05pm
Member of thge Green Party!

saturn51, Dec 11, 7:19pm
Cheers for the valuable insight to the information that I was asking about. I feel everyone on this thread is now better off after your input.

saturn51, Dec 11, 7:20pm
G'day, most of the racing will be at Te Marua, while there may be the odd trip (one or two a year) to Wanganui.