Good mechanic in Chch

jahemian, Mar 11, 5:20am
Hello.

I'm looking for a good reliable mechanic in Chch. I'm a female and I'm starting to get concerned I'm getting ripped off by the one in Lincoln, as every time I take it there, I always have a "hole in the manafold" or. something. Flange! I don't know. But being a student, I really can't afford to fork out $250 every six months, considering I hardly even drive my car.

So really I'm looking for someone who isn't going to see I'm a female and instantly think they'll get a crap tonne of money from me. Because I'm a student and they won't be getting anything out of me that I know myself isn't broken.

My friend once took her car to a mechanic and they told her that everything was fine, except she needed a cam belt change. She laughed and said "That's funny". Mechanic was confussed as to why, and she said "Well, it's chain driven". (Nissan + boyfriend knows a lot about cars to tell her what DOES need doing). So this story put me off even more.

Not keen on VTNZ, rather just go to a mechanic and get everything done in one hit IF there was work to be done.

Also: Can they actually fail you because there is a hole in the manifold! Will my car explode on the road and kill lots of people! As far as I'm aware you just waste more gas.

any advice appreciated.

cuddlycritters, Mar 11, 5:24am
I use Hamilton Motors in Riccarton.They're great guys and I trust them totally.I've been taking my car there for years, and mostly don't have any issues when getting a warrant, despite owning an ancient car.They can tell you in advance if you need work doing soon too - that gives you a little time to get the $$$$ together!

unbeatabull, Mar 11, 5:27am
I consider myself a pretty good mechanic.

meathead_timaru, Mar 11, 5:28am
As far as you're 'aware' you're wrong.