"I'm a mechanic" yeah right!

Page 1 / 2
tgray, Apr 13, 10:42pm
A lady sends her mechanic to check out the car I am selling.
First thing he does is pull out the oil dipstick and announce it is low on oil and since there are no oil leaks, it must be burning oil, so he will advise her not to buy it. His check of the oil level was done whilst car parked on a steep drive and without a rag.
He leaves and I immediately park on a level position and use a rag to wipe first and recheck. The oil is at the perfect and normal level. I let the lady know, who tells her mechanic who then accuses me of topping it up.
I then realise it's all over. Never mind.

intrade, Apr 13, 11:08pm
ummm yea well maybe its better you did not sell this person a car as you would be sued after 5 years when the car blows up since you last supposedly toped up the oil!

grangies, Apr 13, 11:12pm
Oh dear. Sounds like you'd be better off without the sale, as the idiot will start picking on ludicrous things.

Sounds like the lady will never be able to buy a car, as none of them will be good enough according to that fool she is using to check them out.

Tell her if she wants a perfect vehicle she'll have to go and visit a brand new Rolls Royce dealer with $500,000 in hand.

sr2, Apr 14, 1:13am
Yes I've run into these "experts" before when selling a car. Some years back I was privately selling a very tidy 323, a prospective buyer had sent an "expert" to look at. When the buyer fronted up with a huge list of defects I told him that being an honest person couldn't possibly sell it to anyone due to the issues his expert had discovered. He kept offering me more and more over the following weeks until I eventually sold it to him for more than the original advertised price.

kazbanz, Apr 14, 5:39am
hate to tell ya T gray--it was all over before he even pulled into your driveway. I bet he conveniently happens to have a "better ' vehicle he can make money from

tgray, Apr 14, 5:44am