"I'm a mechanic" yeah right!

Page 2 / 2
budgel, Apr 15, 9:54pm
A dork is a dork.
There are plenty of amateurs who know lots about cars. Its ones like in the OP who give us amateurs a bad name!

bjmh, Apr 15, 10:20pm
The worst of them we called "Ankles" , 2 inches above a heal & 3 feet below a c%n^

mrfxit ( ha ha brilliant. my mate the painter used to say to them,so you're a bit of a painter. they would reply. yer. mate would mumble"i know which bit ".

grangies, Apr 16, 12:10am
I had someone come into work about a month ago in a real sh1tty mood because his little truck was smashed in the front.

It was a Toyota Dyna, and the front sheet-metal panel below the windscreen was fully munted. AS IN TOTALLY FA$$KED.

He was like "how much, how much?" , and I said I can't say until I price up a new front panel.

Hahahhaha he spat tacks, saying I'm trying to rip him off. So I asked what he'd like me to say, and he told me I should be welding a few tags on it and pulling it out with a slide hammer LOL.

I just closed my quote book, and walked back inside ignoring him, so he drove off in a rage LOL. :)

franc123, Apr 16, 6:01am
No Certs well I think that makes you not a mechanic then doesn't it. That's exactly the sort of thing #21 was driving at. A mechanic is someone who has done a supervised course of training alongside a suitably qualified person in conjunction with industry prescribed study and the training organisation responsible, and proved their abilities to both of them in on job training and whatever exams are needed. and passed. Nothing else.

bumfacingdown, Apr 16, 6:22am
Good thread, mind you there are some car salesmen who also think they are mechanics

mrfxit, Apr 16, 6:25am
LMFAO, yea whatever.
Seen plenty of "book" mechanics that don't even know the difference between an olive & a feral, never mind understand how to work on anything older then 20 years old.
Never mind the compassion or desire to work on the older cars.

mrfxit, Apr 16, 6:27am