Carjam - worth paying for the history?

Page 1 / 2
totalimp, Aug 18, 8:54am
Is it worth paying for the carjam report when buying from a dealer? Particuarly if there's failed WOF"s on the history? Or not so much worth the $15?

tgray, Aug 18, 8:58am
Only you can decide if it's worth it.
Buying from a dealer gets you clear title in writing and the CIN form they give you will show if it's been re registered.
If I was a layman buying a car, I would personally pay the $15. It will show you how many owners it has had and a host of other information.
$15 for piece of mind? Surely it's a small price to pay.

saxman99, Aug 18, 9:09am
The problem is you can't tell why it failed. A "blown number plate bulb" will show a fail the same as "Chassis very rusty, steering falling off, brakes inoperable and tyres bald."

totalimp, Aug 18, 9:27am
Ahhh ok, i thought it might have gone into detail with the paid report, thats basically all i wanted. haha. Thanks!

kazbanz, Aug 18, 9:43am
$15.00 is a tiny investment to help you get peace of mind. personally I get concerned if there is a sequence of wof fails,
Incidently For a FRESH import its more or less a waste of time. all you will get is border check then first WOF.

totalimp, Aug 18, 9:49am
It's failed 3 WOFs since 2016. It's NZ new, 2010. Had a rego change in 2014. Potentially buying form a dealer so not overly concerned. But it's like a building report on a house, different scale but $15 is nothing compared to the $30K price. But if it doesn't show the reasons it's failed WOF's then it's probably not a biggie.

toyboy3, Aug 18, 9:55am
Rego change ? New number plates because the others were mangled in a crash ?

tgray, Aug 18, 10:04am
Does it say re registered?
If so, it's likely it's an ex write off.

kazbanz, Aug 18, 10:08am
you will likely see an explaination for the rego change

totalimp, Aug 18, 10:33am
Thanks all. I've just bought it now so all good.

totalimp, Aug 18, 10:35am