Telstar rear brake imbalance. Any suggestions?

Page 1 / 2
bexx13, Apr 4, 12:05am
Have been trying to get my rear brakes balanced on my 1990 Telstar, so far I have fitted new brake shoes, new cylinders to both sides, replaced the old fluid with new dot 4 fluid and readjusted the handbrake. I have swapped the drums from side to side and they are still out. I have a 39% imbalance on the VTNZ brake machine.(left side is stronger). Any suggestions! Thanks

mugenb20b, Apr 4, 12:07am
*Facepalm*. Don't go to VTNZ.

mugenb20b, Apr 4, 12:09am
But, the only thing left to look at would be the proportioning valve.

johnf_456, Apr 4, 12:11am
Step 1: do not go to vtnz, they are utter morons and personally I find a trusted mechanic much better who can engage and apply common sense. That seems to have gone out the windows with "some" imports to nz.

I'd be looking at the proportioning valve.

mugenb20b, Apr 4, 12:13am
Some "imports" know their stuff.

johnf_456, Apr 4, 12:14am
Changed to "some", but a lot of the crap failed mechanics we have in Auckland vtnz's is crazy. I see the screws up daily. But if you think vtnz are good then good for you.

mugenb20b, Apr 4, 12:20am
You don't have to change it to "some", I didn't take offence to that. And I agree with your opinion of VTNZ 100%.

johnf_456, Apr 4, 12:25am
No worry's then.

bexx13, Apr 4, 1:14am
Tell me about it. Never again.

bexx13, Apr 4, 1:24am
Yeah I used to think it was the best place to go but now Im not so sure. I tried to talk to the guy who is doing the rechecks about it but I met with a blank stare and a "we dont make the rules". He couldnt even make a suggestion what the problem may be. I thought the proportioning valve was the front/rear bias as well. Im gona try swapping the leading shoes around and swapping the tyres too. Thanks

sandypheet, Apr 4, 1:43am
Sounds like OP will fill the next vacancy if failed mechanic is the qualification.

bexx13, Apr 4, 1:45am