Opel astra shift stick problem.

mowerman99, Aug 29, 1:19am
Is that what you call the "gear stick"! Anyway the bit on the side that you depress to select the gear popped out. I was able to put it back in to drive home but when I got home I couldn't get my key out. Husby removed the battery overnight so not to flatten it and worked out without the battery connected you could remove the key so the problem must be to do with the gear select lever thingy. Because the side bit popped out it must not be fully engaging into park which prevents me from removing the key. Where would I go to get this sorted! Do you think most garages would have a generic "bit" to restore the gear lever! I'm so sorry about my non-technical terminology. I'm a much better nurse than I am mechanic! Thanks for any advice. Mrs mm

mugenb20b, Aug 29, 1:24am
You can take the car to any garage, but at the end of the day, Holden dealer will most likely have the required parts in stock and repair your car quicker.

mowerman99, Aug 29, 8:19am
Hi Skin. The problem with leaving the battery connected is the key and the ignition system "talk" to each other and flaten the battery.I'm taking Mrs MM to work in the morning and will see Giltrap Holden first thing. Thanks for you help.

smac, Aug 29, 9:27am
That button has popped out on ours before, not a problem, just press it back in (will click into place, only goes one way up).

treachug, Aug 29, 9:57am
The little white plastic triangular part the outer knob pushes onto may have broken & this lets the knob fall out. Really thin and easily broken.The only way you can fix it then is to buy a new gear lever knob assembly - part number 09118420. Go to your local Holden dealer parts dept & give them this part number & get a picture printed off. Shows the part need & trust me it will be dear.& they wont carry it. Maybe cheaper & easier way is go for a used shifter assm.

mowerman99, Aug 29, 9:48pm