Whoops toyota Ist

vandewc, Mar 25, 7:44am
Well I found out why I had no transmission oil.

The day before I did an oil change. Tonight I found that it wasn't the oil I had drained but the transmission.
Not only did I do that but I filled up what was already in the engine with 3.2 litres of fully synthetic oil $80.
Have I done any damage by running the transmission for 70km with no fluid and having twice the oil in the engine?

Please tell me I haven't
I bought some transmission fluid today to replace what I drained, but have to buy another pack of oil.

tamarillo, Mar 25, 7:48am
Well that's a maybe I think. Yes you surely could have damaged it, they like oil, but you might have got away with it. You'll know soon enough!

vandewc, Mar 25, 7:53am
What could happen

gunhand, Mar 25, 8:22am
Im not a mechanic and never pretend to be, do do oils etc myself tho.
I take it the car is still running okay? It must be if you done 70km.
If it is you may be lucky, may have been enough residual fliud to keep it working. As for the over fill, well again you may be lucky. bad things can and do happen but it seems they may not have as yet. Drain your engine oil, refill to correct level on dipstick. fill your trans to correct level as well. Check as said by other in your first post.
If you re lucky the car will run as normal. However in the future it could fail badly and expensively due to whats happened.
Any remedy if it fails won't be cheap.
and our ist is a standard trans not cvt.
If you are not sure how to do it get a mechanic to come to you to do it, explain what happened. Don't drive the car or even start it till sorted.

aj.2., Mar 25, 8:29am
Hell man , some people should never get out the door, of the house, in fact you would be safer to stay in bed.