Small SUV ?

Page 1 / 2
pauline999, May 4, 6:39am
Is there such a thing ? I have been driving my Holden astra for the past 12 years and it's time to get a newer car. Most things I have test driven feel a bit 'tinny' and my children have suggested getting an SUV, but theirs are big beasties (lots of kids !) I like the feeling that they are solid, plus getting in and out of them is much easier on my shonky knees and hip joints. Any suggestions please ?

thejazzpianoma, May 4, 6:44am
The Skoda Yeti and VW Tiguan are supurb vehicles, and would be my first choice in a small SUV. There are pretty much none of the usual compromises with regard to value, economy, performance, practicality etc.

That said, you can get some great vehicles with high seats that are not SUV's which may suit your purpose better. If you want small, try a Fiat Panda which is fantastic value brand new at the moment and has high seats. If you want something that feels more solid but is small try a VW Polo Cross.

The Mercedes A class (second generation) is another excellent choice and is actually designed for pretty much your exact purpose.

Some thoughts for you anyhow.

meow_mix, May 4, 7:17am
What an absolute load of bolleoux. don't touch any of those suggestions except maybe the Benz. The Skoda and Tiguan are, well, they're VAG cars which are good when brand new, but are NOT to be considered when buying second hand, they will literally disintegrate before your eyes costing thousands to keep on the road.

There are many good Japanese alternatives such as a Subaru Forester, Honda CRV or Toyota RAV4.

tsjcf, May 4, 7:19am

stevo2, May 4, 7:27am
Small in this order. Mazda CX3, Skoda Yeti, Suzuki S-Cross, VW Polocross, Suzuki S-Cross, Ford Ecosport,
Next size up http://www.aa.co.nz/cars/car-reviews/top-five-motoring-picks/small-suvs/

mephismeltdown, May 4, 7:32am
toyota corrola make a 4wd.

bwg11, May 4, 7:39am
This would be one of the rare occasions when the AA gets it dead right.