Any road code pros?

Page 1 / 2
superdave0_13, Oct 1, 9:49pm
Had an altercation yesterday that escalated. Person "A" traveling on a fairly busy state highway and pulled over to the left hand shoulder to wait till it was clear to turn right, Person "B" travelling in same direction to make the same turn into the driveway but when he arrives at the driveway there is a gap in the oncoming traffic he simply makes the right turn. Who had the right of way here? What happened was that both "A" and "B" made the turn at the same and it turned to custard.

tweake, Oct 1, 9:57pm
i'm no pro and certainly rusty.
however i say B has right of way as they are on the road. car A has to give way to car B to get on the road before they can turn.

pulling over to the shoulder to do a right hand turn is a BS rule, its only an option not a requirement and as many roads do not have a car width shoulder to safely park on, its actually more risky.

i have seen plenty of times where someone pulls over on the left to turn right and get stuck there due to the traffic as they have to give way to both lanes of traffic and those turning.

lyl_guy, Oct 1, 9:59pm
No pro either - but A should have waited for the clear way - how did he/she not see B? So if there was an accident in that scenario, I think A was in the wrong.

snork28, Oct 1, 10:01pm
A didn:t check that way was clear and collided with B i would say.

snork28, Oct 1, 10:04pm
almost sounds as though A was assuming B would let him go first.

superdave0_13, Oct 1, 10:16pm
Thankfully I was person B on this one. He ended up getting into the driveway in front of me, blocked it then jumped out and went bananas leaving me and and another driver trying to pull in exposed to peak hour traffic on state highway 58 in Wellington which Wellington's deadliest. Because I had never come across that situation before I went away thinking it may have been my fault.

socram, Oct 1, 10:20pm
'A' at fault and I'm no pro either.