People who drive autos with the brakes always on

Page 2 / 3
johnf_456, Jun 1, 12:59am
Reckon

richardmayes, Jun 1, 1:02am
I wonder how many of them are actually just a brake pedal switch in need of adjustment!

shedog6, Jun 1, 1:06am
I drive an auto and I don't drive with brake on all the time,Isn't it dangerous to use the accelerator and the brake at the same time. OOOO I bet they do great wheelies.

I was a manual driver maybe that's why. but I use right foot for accelerator and brake and left foot for either clutch or rest.

Can't understand the point to riding the brakes while accelerating.Doesn't make sense to me.

purple666, Jun 1, 1:19am
When my Dad was teaching me to drive a very long time ago he saw me go to use my left foot on the brake (manual trans) and let out such a yell that I can still hear it when I left foot brake in my auto trans classic when its cold or going up on ramps etc. That was a good lesson learned.

gunhand, Jun 1, 1:42am
Well Im going to say that Im a left foot braker in town. Now I dont have my foot actually on the brake causing lights to go on but just above it when coming up to an intersection or any other reason Ithink I may have to stop quicker than perhaps normal.
The reason is that most autos ( most cars actually) are not set up for right foot braking (heal toe) as in a race car where they are. If you have to panic stop for any reason you have to. A, see the situation, B react to it, which means deciding what to do, C, remove right foot from pedal which means lifting right off and then over to the brake and depress it. Do you no how far you have travelled in that time! At 50kph a fair way. Now in a panic braking situation there is a chance that you could hook your foot under the brake therefore not stopping at all. Now years back I did a study on stopping distances human reactions and so forth and im quite happy to have my foot poised above the brake pedal.
I only do this when I preseave a threat. Has it worked. hell yea.